Monaco: Hamilton Wins for Niki Lauda

Mercedes Victory in Monaco 2019

Lewis Hamilton’s most emotional victory: The Briton won the first race after the death of his mentor Niki Lauda. Sebastian Vettel gained second place in Monaco.

Sixth Mercedes victory in a row! Lewis Hamilton won the Monaco Grand Prix in a fire-red Lauda helmet.

“That was a victory in Niki’s style,” cheered Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff on the box radio. The Austrian referred to Hamilton’s race that ended almost in disaster. Hamilton drover with softer tires than the competition and had to manage his lead cleverly against storming Verstappen behind him.

At the finish, an emotional Hamilton showed off his Lauda-designed helmet and said:

“I fought with the same spirit as Niki. He would have pulled the cap off today. I wanted him to be proud of us.”

Sebastian Vettel in his Ferrari, who benefits from a penalty from Max Verstappen scored a second place. Vettel:

“A nice result for the team. We still have a lot of work to do. We are not fast enough, yet. Niki would have been satisfied today. My thoughts are with his family and with him.”

Valtteri Bottas completed the podium in third position for Mercedes.

Race result

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes781h43m28.437s
2Sebastian VettelFerrari782.602s
3Valtteri BottasMercedes783.162s
4Max VerstappenRed Bull/Honda785.537s
5Pierre GaslyRed Bull/Honda789.946s
6Carlos Sainz Jr.McLaren/Renault7853.454s
7Daniil KvyatToro Rosso/Honda7854.574s
8Alexander AlbonToro Rosso/Honda7855.200s
9Daniel RicciardoRenault781m00.894s
10Romain GrosjeanHaas/Ferrari781m01.034s
11Lando NorrisMcLaren/Renault781m06.801s
12Sergio PerezRacing Point/Mercedes771 Lap
13Nico HulkenbergRenault771 Lap
14Kevin MagnussenHaas/Ferrari771 Lap
15George RussellWilliams/Mercedes771 Lap
16Lance StrollRacing Point/Mercedes771 Lap
17Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo/Ferrari771 Lap
18Robert KubicaWilliams/Mercedes771 Lap
19Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo/Ferrari762 Laps
Charles LeclercFerrari16Accident damage

Drivers’ standings

1Lewis Hamilton137
2Valtteri Bottas120
3Sebastian Vettel82
4Max Verstappen78
5Charles Leclerc57
6Pierre Gasly32
7Carlos Sainz Jr.18
8Kevin Magnussen14
9Sergio Perez13
10Kimi Raikkonen13
11Lando Norris12
12Daniil Kvyat9
13Daniel Ricciardo8
14Alexander Albon7
15Nico Hulkenberg6
16Lance Stroll4
17Romain Grosjean2
18Antonio Giovinazzi0
19George Russell0
20Robert Kubica0

Constructors’ standings

3Red Bull/Honda110
5Racing Point/Mercedes17
7Toro Rosso/Honda16
9Alfa Romeo/Ferrari13

*This article was first published in German at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here