Monaco E-Prix 2019 Report

Formula E Monaco

Starting from Pole, DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne pulled away with Mahindra’s Pascal Wehrlein close behind in second and Nissan e.dams Oliver Rowland. Despite clinching Pole in the Super Pole shoot out, the British driver was put back after a three place grid penalty was carried over from the Paris race.

Shortly after, Wehrlein, in second, went wide on Turn 1, giving away two positions as Rowland and Venturi’s Felipe Massa slipped through into second and third respectively. 

With 22 minutes left, both Envision Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird and Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi jumped up two places within a matter of minutes, leaving Bird in eighth and di Grassi close behind in ninth. Having finished runner up twice here in the past, the Brazilian driver was keen to make his way through the pack. 

Coming into Turn 3, BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Alex Simms turned into Audi’s Lucas di Grassi, slamming him into the barrier. Sustaining damage, di Grassi ground to a halt in the iconic swimming pool section of the track, ending his race and chances of a win in Monaco. 

Still in the lead, reigning champion Vergne widened the gap between him and Rowland in second and Massa in third. With less than two minutes left, Frijns and Sims came together on track, putting Frijns car out of action, which saw his race end early. 

Vying for the top sport, Rowland increased the pressure on JEV, desperate to pass and clinch his first win in Formula E. But his efforts were no match for reigning champion Vergne, who crossed the line in first followed by Rowland and home race hero Massa in third. While Vergne was busy celebrating, Sam Bird in sixth ground to a halt at Rascasse unable to finish the race. Devastated, Bird made his way back to the pits. 

Read more here:

Result – 51 laps

1Jean-Eric VergneDS TecheetahDS46m05.547s
2Oliver Rowlande.damsNissan0.201s
3Felipe MassaVenturiVenturi1.261s
4Pascal WehrleinMahindraMahindra1.439s
5Sebastien Buemie.damsNissan6.215s
6Mitch EvansJaguarJaguar16.213s
7Andre LottererDS TecheetahDS16.848s
8Alex LynnJaguarJaguar18.112s
9Stoffel VandoorneHWAVenturi18.551s
10Jose Maria LopezDragonPenske18.860s
11Jerome d’AmbrosioMahindraMahindra21.488s
12Gary PaffettHWAVenturi21.853s
13Alexander SimsBMWBMW26.934s
14Tom DillmannNIONIO31.861s
15Daniel AbtAudiAudi49.400s
16Sam BirdVirginAudiNot running
17Robin FrijnsVirginAudiNot running
Antonio Felix da CostaBMWBMWDisqualified
Oliver TurveyNIONIORetirement
Lucas di GrassiAudiAudiRetirement
Edoardo MortaraVenturiVenturiRetirement
Maximilian GuntherDragonPenskeRetirement

Leading drivers’ standings

1Jean-Eric Vergne87
2Andre Lotterer86
3Robin Frijns81
4Antonio Felix da Costa70
5Lucas di Grassi70
6Mitch Evans69
7Jerome d’Ambrosio65
8Oliver Rowland59
9Daniel Abt59
10Sam Bird54

Teams’ standings

1DS Techeetah Formula E Team173
2Envision Virgin Racing135
3Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler129
4Mahindra Racing116
5Nissan e.Dams99
6BMW i Andretti Motorsport88
7Venturi Formula E Team84
8Panasonic Jaguar Racing74
9HWA Racelab28
10Geox Dragon13
11NIO Formula E team6


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here